Aye, Aye, Shephards Pie!

Its cold out, in fact its in the minus numbers, so that means is VERY cold out. I find that when its this cold all I want to do is curl up and eat wholesome food, food that warms the soul. It doesn’t have to be fancy to hit the spot, in fact the more simple the better.

Today I decided that I wanted a good old fashioned Shepard’s pie for lunch. This pie had to be full of flavour to make the cooking time worth the wait! I was not about to scrimp out on ingredients, or methods, the secret to a good pie is time! you need the time to let it absorb all the flavours. With 500g of veal mince, 2 carrots, 2 sticks of celery, 1 lemon, 1 onion, 1 glove of garlic and bunch of thyme, I was well on my way to cooking the BEST Shepards pie in town!

I think the secret to a good Shepard’s pie is the filling. The mince cannot be too runny. After mincing my carrots, onion, celery and 1 clove of garlic in the KitchenAid food processor (best gadget in town) I bunged the lot into a deep frying pan to fry off before adding my mince. Once browned I added a splash of wine, sherry vinegar, 8 sprigs of thyme, grated lemon rind, along with a dash of lea and perrins sauce, 1 tablespoon of flour and pinch of salt and pepper to season, I let it simmer away for about 10 mins before adding chicken stock where I turned the heat right down and let it bubble away for about 40mins until the sauce is reduced and the mince turns into glossy thickened texture.

The topping is also important, I kept it simple. Mashed spuds with butter and milk and topped with grated cheese. Shepard’s pie is an old classic that can transport us back to childhood in an instant. It represents a big warm hug, what else do you need a frosty day?

Photographs by David McClelland





Comments

  1. San Pellegrino, not a pint? What?

  2. YUM! That looks delicious! You’re a bloody talented little Bilby! Loved it! Xx

  3. Oh how delicious! Get in my belly!!!

Leave a Reply

