Miss Courtney’s Tearooms

A while ago I blogged about my love of “High Tea”, and all the ceremony that accompanies it. I happened to mention my favourite little tearoom, “Miss Courtney’s Tearooms” in Killarney Co. Kerry, where my love of “taking tea” is combined with my love of all things vintage.


 Today is your lucky day. It was only last weekend that I found myself back in Killarney, second shooting a wedding with Dave. We decided to make a weekend out of it, and after work was done, I took Dave to “Miss Courtney’s Tearooms” for a restorative cup of tea and a slice of cake (lemon drizzle cake, and carrot cake to be exact)

As mentioned in the previous blog post “Taking Tea“, Miss Margaret Courtney, was the original proprietor, and opened her business in 1909. Over the years, the cafe has seen four generations of ladies in the family running it. The current owner, Sandra Dunlea, reopened in summer 2008 as Miss Courtney’s Tearooms.

To me, Miss Courtney’s Tearooms has all the right ingredients for making even the simplest cup of tea seem special. Sandra has created a nostalgic elegant space which lifts your spirits as soon you walk through the door. Black and white Family portraits adorne the walls, delicate china tea cups hang from chandeliers, cakes, buns, slices, are on display from the counter, and all the pretty furniture, painted floor boards tells you that you have truly entered a little wonderland. Dave started snapping away as soon as we entered the cafe, I am delighted to be able to share with you a little slice of heaven.

(Photography: David McClelland)

Comments

  1. My hand is trying to pick that slice of Lemon Drizzle cake off the screen.

  2. ciarastyleserendipity says:

    Love Miss Courtneys! Tasty tea and cake in a beautiful setting is always a pleasure! Will have to find an excuse to go to Killarney again soon!

  3. ciarastyleserendipity says:

    Love Miss Courtneys, will definitely have to find an excuse to pop in again soon!

  4. I so want to be back there. Aisling, I can tell you, that lemon drizzle cake was just as beautiful as it looks. What a place.

Leave a Reply

