Backyard Blitz vol.3

So it’s been a while since I have reported on my progress with my backyard. I know it’s June so technically the garden should be in full bloom. It is, bar from a few lazy hydrangeas that are just about making an appearance, young buds promising a great colour bloom of white and purple that will certainly uplift my little garden.

It was a wet a rainy miserable evening when Dave decided to test out his new lens and capture the garden in full colour. I deliberately selected brightly coloured pots and shocking pink Lupins to inject a bit of much needed colour, and its great to seee their jolly bobbing heads in the morning against my back wall.

Our herb box is going great guns, the herbs are just loving their new home in a battered old disused wooden crate.  I must say,  I really do enjoy walking out into the yard to select a bunch of herbs when cooking,  no longer do I toss out herbs that sit forgotten, slimy and limp in my fridge.   Mint in particular is a savage, and we simply cannot keep up with the rate in which it grows,  parsley has literally taken over (I seem to use parsley a lot in cooking of late, just to cut it back),and our tyhme and rosemary is also thriving in the outdoors.

Below are a few images  to fully showcase how we are getting on here at the  afternoondlite headquarters. I will continue to strive to  soften the edges of the garden, am waiting patiently like an expectant Mother for my Hydrangeas to spring into life! 🙂

(Photography: David McClelland)

Comments

  1. I love what you’ve done in your backyard, keep us posted on your hydrangeas 🙂

  2. Looks beautiful. My own garden has been thrown into disarray the last few days with all this wind and rain.

  3. Wow – your photos are amazing – the garden too 🙂

  4. Reblogged this on Potted Plant Society.

Leave a Reply

